T Nation

Diet Advice for a Teen

hi guys,

first off im a sophomore in high school

i've been eating a good amount for the past 7 weeks and put on about 20 lbs on bench press, 20 pounds on ATG squat, and 25 pounds on deadlift. I am on a simple strength program that is somewhat low volume, 3x week. on the two off days (tues/thurs) i do cardio (gym class in school). Also, these aren't newbie gains because I have been training seriously a year before I got on this program (i was mostly on WSFSB I beforehand).

Here is the dilemma, I have been getting pretty pudgy. Now I'm not the typical teen who refuses to put on fat to get bigger, but it is still hard for me mentally. Here's what I plan to do about it:

Continue eating same amount and continue on program until 9 weeks are up (this week and next week), end up with about 20-30 lb prs on all lifts. Then, switch to WSFSB III for a couple months.

I feel like WSFSB III will allow me to

a) burn more calories since its higher volume
b) bring up some lagging muscle groups that my current program ignores (forearms, lats, biceps, calves)

also since I have already tried the first version of WSFSB (I) I can actually run the program correctly since I know how to rotate exercises properly

Whew that was a long ass post what do you guys think about this plan. Should I follow it or simply eat less and add in a little extra cardio (maybe on weekends)

also, when I say pudy i don’t mean like 13%, its more like 15-18% erring on the upper side of that range

Don’t worry about getting “pudgy” or “shredded” worry about become a giant, lion-eating monster. Read Chad Waterbury’s articles, lift heavy, and eat everything you can shove down your gullet.(Obviously not total shit) Theres a time for being shredded and sexy, and its in about 5 years for you. Lift big, eat big, be big.

[quote]BrownTrout wrote: