T Nation

Did You Have Trouble Finding a Job after Your Degree?

I have been hearing about some college grads who end up working minimum wage jobs after they graduate. I don't want that to happen to me. Have any of you guys had trouble finding a job after you graduated.

I am a biology major. I have always been split into to career fields. law enforcement and the health field. my plan is to graduate with my bachelors and than after wards join the coast guard. Since the coast guard does a lot of law enforcement and search and rescue work I think that would be an excellent branch for me to join. If I like the law enforcement aspect more than I aim for a career in law enforcement but if I like the search and rescue part more than I will go back to school for my doctorate.

I graduated with a physics degree and couldn't find shit when I graduated. I actually ended up working as a full-time career city firefighter for several years until I realized I didn't want to spend my life doing that for 30 years. Very cool job and because of my education they moved me into hazmat which was a very good experience-- however I am really happy to be away from it now.

In any case, I ended up having to go back to school and actually getting work experience because I still couldn't find anything with my physics degree alone. So I went back to school and did some work in nanoscience, and so far it has helped out tremendously.

I would say if you're interested, the Coast Guard would be a GREAT place to go. I went into the Marines after high-school, and if I could do it over again I would have went into the Coast Guard. Sounds like a sweet gig, usually solid duty stations too.

I got an undergrad in Political Science. I opted to forego opening up a Political Science store and went to law school instead. I highly recommend law school. You will always have a job if you have a law degree. Assuming you can pass the bar and stay out of trouble enough to keep your license.