T Nation

Did I Start Too Heavy?

Hey all,

I’m running 531 triumvirate for the first time and I think I might have started too heavy for squats. I just finished my 531 week and I hit the following :
Press: 132.5lbs for 7
Deadlift: 345lbs for 9
Bench: 210lbs for 7
Squat: 365lbs for 5

Did I start too heavy for squat? I used a calculated 1RM to get my TM weight. Is 5 reps low for the 3rd weeks? Should I only add 5lbs instead of 10lbs next cycle?

I’m new to the program so I don’t know what to expect for my amrap sets.

Thanks!

I believe I’d heard you can expect 10 reps of your 5’s week, 8 reps on your 3’s week, and 5 reps on your 5/3/1 week. This could be totally wrong though, and depends on several variables (the individual, how they ate/slept the night before, etc.).

Are you using a 90% TM? What weight did you start with? None of us know that info.

Also, I’d say that sets aren’t AMRAP sets. It’s not as many as possible, no matter what. It’s a PR set - you beat your own record, you don’t go to failure.

I was using a 90% TM yes. My TM was as follows:
Press: 155lbs
Deadlift: 365lbs
Bench: 220lbs
Squat: 385lbs

For the record I’m really happy with all my lifts. Particularly my deadlift which has lagged for me in the past.

You say PR I say AMRAP. It’s my first cycle so I have no baseline. Is trying to set a rep PR not an AMRAP set?

No. An AMRAP is getting as many as you possibly can during the set. PR set could be you simply hit one more rep than you did at that weight the last time you did a set with it and end the set there with several reps left in the tank.

Have you read the books? One of the big points on the PR sets is that you should be leaving a couple reps left in the tank the majority of the time to recover better.