T Nation

Did I Bulk Right?

I am new to lifting weights as of 3 months ago. The first month I started lifting I decided to cut down my body fat because I was starting to look like a weak tub of crap.

I really switched my diet around (did the GreenFace diet) and made heavy use of HIIT, and ended up dropping 20 lbs in a month (kind of an extreme number, but I think a lot of that was being bloated from eating crap all the time). After that I decided to bulk up for the first time in my life, because it just seemed like the right thing to do (I really didn't think that I would enjoy weight-lifting so much and just wanted to see where it went).

Started bulking 2 months ago, increased my consumption of free-eating high quality nutrients (but no grains, and no dairy) to the point I was almost constantly eating... oh yeah, and started doing squats, squats, and more squats. Made some great gains since then, increased presses by 300-330% from 3 months ago (for those who may need an idea of gains using real numbers, I added 100 lbs. to my bench press) I also added an 1 1/2 inches to my arms, not to mention a noticeable physique change in the same period of time.

However, I did lose an additional 10 lbs during my "bulking" phase (which now places my body fat around 12.3%). Did I do something wrong there? I thought you were supposed to increase in weight during a bulking phase. I have increased in size and strength, but not weight. Am I misguided in believing that you should always experience weight gain while bulking?

Oh yeah, forgot to mention that I have been using an Iso Protein Powder for ~3 months now, Creatine for 2 1/2 months, and Beta-alinine & Triple Strength Medical Grade Fish Oil for 2 months. For each supplement I added I saw a marked increase in performance... could the addition of Beta-alinine and completion of Creatine loading account for weight loss?

You lost weight because you were not eating enough to maintain the weight you were.