T Nation

Did High School Sports Help You?

I never participated in sports in school at all and it wasn't till I was 19 that I started lifting weights.

I would have to say that I started too easy...I mean I went months and months after my first day in the university gym doing cable crossovers and curls and other silly shit like that.

How many guys here that had to do weight training in high school are here today and how do you think it has effected your training today and how you look today?

I think I would have had a great head start if I'd done more stuff in high school other than watch The Next generation and read Mack Bolan books!

I would say lifting for high school football definitely was useful for getting a good foundation for how I look and lift today. Unfortunately, my coach was a bit narrow minded with regards to certain exercises. He was a major proponent of pressing, particularly bench and incline. However, he greatly neglected teaching pulls like deads or snatches. Additionally, he wasn't too keen on accessory/isolation/injury prevention work. Consequently, my chest and shoulders started off pretty big, but my back and legs lagged pretty far behind. If my lifting program was more broad in high school, I probably would be much bigger than I am today. Overall, I say it was beneficial because it introduced me to weightlifting and set/rep schemes.

Interesting Topic.