Diagnose My Injury!

I am a noob. I have been lifting hard for 2 weeks. Doing Waterbury’s TBT program.

Monday, I set a new PR for the deadlift and the squat. Yesterday I was sore in the groin area and would stutter step every once in a while as it would make me wince as I walked. Today it was still tender. I did light squats and deadlifts as per the plan. It now hurts like it did yesterday.

The pain is centered around the tendon(?) that runs up the inner thigh to the front of my groin. Is this a groin pull?

[quote]blindetheft wrote:
I am a noob. I have been lifting hard for 2 weeks. Doing Waterbury’s TBT program.

Monday, I set a new PR for the deadlift and the squat. Yesterday I was sore in the groin area and would stutter step every once in a while as it would make me wince as I walked. Today it was still tender. I did light squats and deadlifts as per the plan. It now hurts like it did yesterday.

The pain is centered around the tendon(?) that runs up the inner thigh to the front of my groin. Is this a groin pull? [/quote]

Yes. Rest it. Ice it. Compress it. See a trainer (or Physical therapist) if you must.

If the pain continues for a long time (couple weeks) see a doc.

Groin pulls suck, big time. Good luck.

Yep, sounds like an adductor strain/pull. Don’t go for PR’s your first month! Not sure of the best recovery protocol.

Thanks guys. It doesn’t feel like it’s too bad, just tender. Will rest up.

Feeling tender for a few days after big lifts is normal, it can take your body some time to recover… If however you are almost unable to move at all due to pain, or have tenderness/pain for a longer duration of time, see a doctor or a physical therapist.

I don’t think it’s a groin pull. It’s probably the adductors.

[quote]Wreckless wrote:
I don’t think it’s a groin pull. It’s probably the adductors.[/quote]

I hope that was a joke.

Remember the acronym: RICE

Rest
Ice
Compression
Elevation