diabetes

Ok, quick question about diabetes and nutrition. I have a friend that wants to eat healthy (of course) but claims that she cannot have LESS THAN 15G OF CARBS PER MEAL. Is this true. If this is true (she claims that this is what her doctor told her, i feel that i should ask her doctor about that), how would you plan a p/f meal for her? I was thinking something along the lines of a p/f meal with an orange (15.4) just to keep her carb levels up. What do you think? I am not a professional but through the years I have done wonders to my lifting numbers (and my physique) so she asked me for help.

Thanks

Is this friend a type 1 or type 2 Diabetic?

Doesn’t sound right to me, but if you want to combine P+F meals, then have her stick to all sorts of green veggies (the more the better, the greener the better) and some low-carb fruit (berries) and combine plenty of good protein and fat sources.

As a diabetic, she will need a certain amount of carbs in her diet, and I suggest getting them from all vegetable sources, whole-grain brown rice, whole-wheat pasta and whole-grain or wheat breads. If it’s man made, don’t eat it!

Stick to whole foods, natural foods, good, healthy foods.

Remember, the more advertising or packaging it comes in, the worse it is for you!

Nate is right,have her stick to the green vegies,and nix the high GI fruits…how about she try a dont diet/massive eating type plan…let her have a few higher(but not high) carb meals early in the day,and then more p+f meals later in the day/night with the p+f meals have her eat a nice large green salad with those meals…she could be kept in a near ketogenic state…also make sure she excersizes!

Nate Dogg, Does it make sense to give a diabetic any kind of grains, even whole grains? Don’t the grains have too high a glycemic index?

I’m highly insulin resistant and I stay away from all grains except for the occasional Ezekial (sprouted grain) bread, but I’ll bow to superior knowledge in this subject.