T Nation

Dextrose Monohydrate Pre Workout as an Insulin Spike

As per the tread title, I was wondering as CT has been talking about in getting into the ‘invincible zone’ prior to doing weights if it was feasible to take approx 40-60g with water 15 minutes prior to workout. I am a beginner, I do feel very ‘amped’ after 15 mins and my warmup etc however, is this effective in increasing muscle mass etc etc. does taking such a large amount of sugar impact my health and or insulin sensitivity or is 40-60g tiny amounts…? My weight is 71kg currently (156 pounds) and I am currently progressing well

cheers

At your weight, you don’t need to worry about carbs peri workout, assuming that you’re lifting with any amount of intensity.

It really isn’t a big amount of sugar, a normal portion of pasta as at least this much in carbs…of course it’s not exactly the same but it still proves the point.

At your weight, unless you are already fat, don’t worry about the carbs. Actually, carbs in general are a very easy and effective way to gain mass, whether from sugar around training or from more complex carbs in your meals.

If you’re looking for an insulin spike immediately prior to training, 15g of dextrose should be plenty. But it’s not just the insulin spike that gives the training edge. First you have to load your bloodstream with carbs without causing an insulin spike.

When you’re lifting, the insulin response of the body is shut off and the muscles intake fuel and nutrients through non-insulin uptake. What you’re trying to do is spike insulin pre-workout to maximize uptake by the cells (you get the normal insulin response plus the non-insulin uptake).

[quote]Nyral wrote:
It really isn’t a big amount of sugar, a normal portion of pasta as at least this much in carbs…of course it’s not exactly the same but it still proves the point.