Developing Summer Bulking Program

This is my first post here but I’ve been gathering info from the articles for a few months now. To start off with some background info on myself; I’m 18 years old, I’ve been training for 3 years and my primary focus is hockey. I’m 6’3" and 165 lbs (yeah I’m a skinny prick). Last season I was 175 lbs but by the end of the season I had dropped to 160 lbs.

I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease (auto-immune disorder which calls for a strict gluten free diet) during the offseason. I had a food intolerance test done and found that I’m intolerant to lactose and eggs and I’m supposed to limit beef and chicken to twice a week each. I think my biggest obstacle is getting enough cals in to meet my requirements.

I will be able to start training at the beginning of May roughly and end mid August. I’ve worked with a trainer the past 3 years but it was a group setting and I don’t believe my workout was specialized enough to my needs so I’ve decided to develop my own program and I’d like some input. I wouldn’t consider myself a newbie to working out, I know most exercises and I’d like to think my technique is fairly good but at 165 lbs the strength certainly isn’t where I’d like it to be. At the end of last summer my bench max was 200 and my squat max was 315. I’m sure they’ve dropped over the winter though as our hockey schedule is quite rigorous.

Basically, my reason for posting is to get some input on how to setup my program for max weight gains. My goal is to reach 185 lbs by the end of summer. Thanks in advance, any advice is appreciated.

Cole

Since your relative strength seems to be quite good: Try Dan John’s Mas Made Simple. It’s dirt cheap as an ebook on amazon and it WORKS if you have the guts to go through it.

[quote]hammerheadweds wrote: