Developing a Sense of Humor

Does anyone here thinks it’s possible to actually actively work on and improve your sense of humor? I would like to develop better “wit”. I work in customer service and work with some people that are fairly witty and good at coming up with quick comments on the spot that make customers laugh.

I have been trying to do this and think that I have, to a small degree, become a little bit more witty. I think what has helped is just being around the others (listening) and always trying to come up with something myself.

To me it seems like for such an important life skill it rarely(if ever) gets talked about in this way.

Thoughts? How does one become funnier?

This is innate. I believe you can learn how to approach things better in order to communicate better…but no, you don’t learn how to be a natural comedian. You either are witty and quick with a comeback, or you aren’t.

I have a friend now who we have known should be on stage since we first knew each other. He is a natural comedian…one of those types who can have a whole table filled with people he doesn’t know laughing within 5 min. He didn’t LEARN that. He may have worked on technique a little…but much like any comedian would.

Richard Pryor may have worked on his routine for a long time before we ever heard it on stage, but you can bet he was naturally funny before he ever wrote anything down.

My humor in life is sarcastic and heavy handed. It works for me but I have to watch how and where I use it. Everyone doesn’t respond the same to the same type of “humor”.

Nope you either have it or you dont. Good luck.

hang out with BugAD

HM is prob the funniest person I’ve ever encountered tbh

[quote]tmay11 wrote: