T Nation

Detraining/Deload for 15-20 Days?

(yes I hit the search button lol)

Hey everybody I have a simple question, I have been training hard for 3 years straight without a real break not even a week off. I have plateaued in both muscle hypertrophy and strength and was wondering if taking time off ie detraining (say 15-20 days) would be enough. I'm leaning more towards 19 days. I will still be eating properly and taking my supplements and fishoils
Thank you for your responses
-joe

I'd say that's a bit too long. I did recently take a week off and felt good for it.

Look up Bryan Haycock's Strategic Deconditioning method for ideas from people who regularly take 10+ days off

Thank you I'll take a look. I've tried a week off in the past, no bueno

Well, obviously you haven't tried it in the last three years.

As per the OP's profile:

19 years old
Height 6'0"
Weight 170
Bodyfat: 5%

The last thing this dude needs is two or three weeks of minimal lifting.

Read these and apply the info. It'll go a very long way towards bringing you past any "plateau":
http://www.T-Nation.com/free_online_article/most_recent/forced_anabolism_how_to_overeat
http://www.T-Nation.com/free_online_article/sports_body_training_performance_interviews/roundtable_the_cure_for_skinny
http://www.T-Nation.com/free_online_article/most_recent/diet_planning_for_the_hardgainer

What, exactly, did you eat yesterday?

What supplements do you take?

@guerillazen I'm sorry I should have edited it to "i have taken a week off and no good, but not a real break" sorry about that

@dannyrat that was exactly what I was looking for, I used to do a drug users volume split and that drained me so now I'll take some time to "strategic decondition" thank you

Thank you all for your help

That is a stupid idea. A much better idea is to stop eating like a girl.