T Nation

Designed Routine. Advice Wanted!

I’ve been training for a few years and for the past 2.5 have been training with a total body training routine that took about 2 hours to finish correctly. I’ve seen some nice gains but I began with this routine and its time to move on.

My goals are to gain strength. I’ve done some reading and the 5x5 program looks good for me. I am a student athlete and compete in short sprints this spring. My focus is on leg strength and the posterior chain, especially the hamstrings and lower back. Also, Tibialis Anterior/Calves due to repeated shin splints that interfere with track.

I’ve been trying this out heading on 2 weeks now but here is what I came up with.

Monday: Chest/Back

Flat Bench Press: 5x5
Pull ups: 5x5
Upright Rows: 3x10reps
Rows: 5x5
Situps: 4x25reps
DB Shrugs: 3x8
Incline Bench Press: 5x5
45? Sled Leg Press Tibialis (Light): 3x10
45? Sled Leg Press single leg calve raise (light): 3x10
Tricep: 3x10

Tuesday: Legs

BB Back Squat: 5x5
Cable Ab routine: 4x25
45? Leg Press: 5x5
Seated calf raise: 5x6
Dead lift: 5x5
DB Tibialis routine (DARD): 3x10
Prone Leg curls: 3x10

Wednesday: Cardio
OFF/Track Training

Thursday: Chest/Back/Shoulders
Bench Press: 5x5
Pull ups: 5x5
DB Military Press: 3x8
Ab routine: 4x25
Dips: 5x5
Between Legs BB Row: 5x5
Biceps: 3x10
Shoulder Raises: 3x10

Friday: Legs
Squat: 5x5
Cable Ab routine: 4x25
Calf Raises: 5x6
Tibialis Anterior: 3x10
Dead lift: 5x5
Bulgarian Squats: 3x10
Romanian Dead Lift: 3x10

Saturday: Rest Day 1
OFF

Sunday: Rest Day 2
OFF

I feel it might be much and I might be overtraining, but I do not feel overtrained during or post workout. The Lower reps leave me with much more energy that when I did a 3x10 TBT routine. I feel this routine will help build my legs well and give me a stronger back. I aim for symmetry and hope this will help. I really want to strike each muscle from different angles, thats why I threw in Incline and dips with flat bench.