T Nation

Design a Program Experiment

I'm doing a research paper on "Program design for the desk athlete". That won't be the title of my paper, but that gives you the basic idea of it lol.

This paper is based around what can someone do that doesn't want to do the typical SS, SL, GreySkull, Dan Johns, Bill Starr, etc. strength programs. They just don't care about squatting 315 or deadlifting 405.

This is for the guy that doesn't have huge aspirations in lifting, but just wants to be strong (relatively), move well, decently athletic, and stay healthy. For example this guy might want to be able to do reps at 225 for squats, but never increase the weight past that. I think for the average person a 225 squat with PERFECT form is more than enough for everyday things. I work in IT and I feel this paper/program would aide a BUNCH of them to just get healthy, but also put them on the path to get into weightlifting.

I think the program should address a few things:

1. Mobility and perfect form
  2. Letting them know DIET is huge
  3. Correcting posture
  4. Man muscles (strong legs, back, core, shoulders--> I guess more of a pure Olympic lifting mindset)
  5. Balanced (hitting weak points early from sitting all day)
  6. 3 Day full body (that can turn into a 2 day split to maintain for life)

These are the exercises I feel would be perfect for that person:

Front Squats
Overhead Squat (with just the bar/broomstick to maintain/increase mobility)

Deadlift
Power Clean
Rows
RDL
GHR
Good Morning
Pull Ups (BW, once can do 3x10, then add weight) (Vary from pull ups, chins, neutral grip)
BB Hip Thrusts

Overhead Press
Dips (BW)
Push Ups (BW-different variations)

Farmers Walks
Plate Pinches

Abs

Jumps
Swim
Sprints

===============
Typical Week:
Mon - Lift
Tue - Swim/Hike
Wed - Lift
Thu - Sprint/Hike
Fri - Lift

=====================================