T Nation

Depth on Good Mornings?

has anyone ever suffered a lower back injury from doing a goodmorning?

just wondering as when i do a goodmorning i go about parrell with my hips and i read an article by louie simmons that said that you should only go to the angle of your deadlift when doing a good morning.. is this only to boost your deadlift or does it follow over to squats as well? i relize a stronger squat will = a stronger deadlift but my lifts are the other way around.. ive got a much stronger deadlift than my squat however i am only a beginner powerlifter but i was just curious as too the form of a goodmorning.

should i continue to go parrell or only go to the angle of the way i set up my deadlift?

thanks advice will be appreciated i understand its a trivial question and has probably been asked a lot - i unfortunatly do not have the time to go through the forums to find it.

I personally don't go down any deeper if I start losing tightness and tension. It's lower for a high bar position and higher for a low bar, but that's just me. GMs can have carry over to squats I think, to target your hams more you can put plates under the front of your foot. To target the hips and glutes more, use a wide stance. What I like about the GM is it's versatility.

I go as deep as I can and still maintain a slight arch in my lower and upper back (Which happens to be about the angle of my back during a deadlift.)

I've found that Goodmornings improve my squat more than my deadlift.

Once you are standing erect with the bar across your back.
1- Slight bend in the knees
2- Push your butt back, maintaining the arch in your low back, chest full, head high
**when you reach the point that you can descend no further without rounding your low back or bending your knees, you are at the end of your range of motion.
3- Draw your hips forward while maintaining your arch, chest full, head high
Repeat