Depression/Anxiety

Is there anything that works?

I’ve been reading about 5-HTP and L-tryptophan. Neither seem promising.

I have a pretty good diet. I’ve been doing power lifting training since November 2011. I take fish oil and flax seed.

Sunshine/Vitamin D
Healthy Fats
Not Drinking
B Vitamins (Especially Folic Acid)

IMO It’ s all in the mind. As in, good food gives your brain the tools to work well… but you have to think well. Hope, optimism, seeing the best in people/situations, mantras wilk work more than vitamin d (though important) IME. see this

strippy bars and stop training 7 days a week

1 Like

I was even more unhappy before I became obsessed with the gym.

I’ll try vitamin D. It’s winter, do I haven’t gotten much sun and I don’t really spend a lot of time getting sun anyways.

vitamin D3 does wonders for me in the winter, and actually all year round since I don’t stay out in the sun long I guess.

[quote]KcThrows wrote:
vitamin D3 does wonders for me in the winter, and actually all year round since I don’t stay out in the sun long I guess. [/quote]

As much food as I eat and as much milk as I drink, I’d be surprised if I had a problem with vitamin d, but I got some tablets anyways.

[quote]RampantBadger wrote:
strippy bars and stop training 7 days a week[/quote]

Haha, this!

[quote]BigRedMachine87 wrote:

[quote]KcThrows wrote:
vitamin D3 does wonders for me in the winter, and actually all year round since I don’t stay out in the sun long I guess. [/quote]

As much food as I eat and as much milk as I drink, I’d be surprised if I had a problem with vitamin d, but I got some tablets anyways.[/quote]

Many suggest talking vitamin D in doses of 2,000-6,000 IU per day (which is, of course, a fraction of what you can get by spending a couple of hours outside on a sunny summer day). Milk has about 400 IU vitamin D per litre. I take 5,000 IU per day and feel healthier than ever over the last several winters.