T Nation

Depressed

Ok, don’t read this if you don’t want to hear some whining. You’ve been warned.

I just failed a computer science test (again)… the professor reissued the same exam he gave us before break, because the test scores were so low. I didn’t go up much.

The really hurtful news is that I didn’t get into the creative writing program at my school. I’ve always thought that my real gift was with words, but it appears that the Creative Writing Panel does not agree. I’m depressed as hell, I have no motivation to study for my test on friday, and I just ate way too many hershey kisses. I think that I’m going to give up writing. Sorry for bitching at you all, but I don’t know where else to vent. I feel like shit.

Nephorm-Dude, it’s not the end of the world. I know your bummed, but when it comes to anything creative, everyone is a critic. I work as an artist, believe me, sometimes people love your work, sometimes they don’t. If you really want to improve, go ask the panel what they thought was wrong with your writing, and ask them for some tips to improve. Giving up something you like because someone gave you a bad critique will really depress you. Get a tough skin. Work harder, and you’ll be rewarded

Don’t let one failed test or someone else’s opinion of your work deter you from your dreams. You’ll be depressed for a while, but you’ll get over it; I suggest you then resume writing right away. We’ve all been in situations like this - stay true to what you want and keep working for it. You can make it happen eventually.

Keep your chin up brotha! It could be much much worse, don’t be so pessimistic. Everyone goes through hard times, you just need someone to talk to. I go through em too. Just use your shitty scores for motivation to kick some ass on the next test.

don’t know what to say… try your best and hang in there.

Sorry for calling you “brotha,” after I posted I realized you could be a female too!