T Nation

Depressed/Anxious About Grades

A little background: Grades have been everything to me my whole life, I have always put getting an A above pretty much everything else, even if it meant having to miss on on sleep or fun activities to study. Graduated 8th in class of 325, etc.

But now I am in my first year at Georgia Tech, and lets just say computer engineering is a very hard major! I was able to make A's my entire first semester (Calculus 2, English 2, politics of Georgia)

now I am at the end of my second semester (Calculus 3, Calculus Physics, World Civ 2)

I am for sure going to have an A in World Civ 2, but Calculus 3 I will only make an A if I get above an 88 on the final, and I will only make an A in physics if I make above a 65% on the Final. Now I know what you are thinking: "A 65%, thats not even passing, you could fail and still make an A"

No, because this is an near-impossibly hard physics class, where over half the class is failing, so to get a 65% actually is like getting an A because of the curve.

My situation is that I am extremely depressed/anxious at the thought of making a B in any of my classes. I started college with a goal I was determined to meet: Get a 4.0 in my 4 years of college. Now, I am not even a year into school, and I might not meet my goal.

Like just imaging that B on my transcript brings a level of rage and anger to my mind, like its a reflection on me as a student, like if I would have worked a bit harder I would have the A.

Not only that, but once I make one B, I can never have a 4.0!

Any advice?

You are not even into your core classes yet, just the silly stuff you are probably never going to use. Forget about the grades, and focus on getting competent on what will pay your bills, which will be the stuff in your 3rd, 4th, and possibly 5th year classes.