Density Work

Hi CT,

I have been lifting for almost 3 years with mostly 5x5 style of workouts. I also do conditioning work 2 days a week. On and Off I have tried some High volume workouts like GVT but I find that more volume with less load doesnt work well for me.

I do have a lot of size however I am not happy with the density of my muscles. I notice I look soft and it is not all about Body fat. I feel that my muscles are not dense. For eg : I have a very good Lat spread but my Lats don’t look thick. Like wise my shoulders look soft when they are relaxed.

What kind of programming ideology would you suggest to increase muscle density. I have read that you recommend doing 20 reps of less load after completing the desired sets and I feel that it works well.

I am 185 cms and 220 lbs and all my big lifts are ~120% BW.

[quote]abhi152 wrote:
Hi CT,

I have been lifting for almost 3 years with mostly 5x5 style of workouts. I also do conditioning work 2 days a week. On and Off I have tried some High volume workouts like GVT but I find that more volume with less load doesnt work well for me.

I do have a lot of size however I am not happy with the density of my muscles. I notice I look soft and it is not all about Body fat. I feel that my muscles are not dense. For eg : I have a very good Lat spread but my Lats don’t look thick. Like wise my shoulders look soft when they are relaxed.

What kind of programming ideology would you suggest to increase muscle density. I have read that you recommend doing 20 reps of less load after completing the desired sets and I feel that it works well.

I am 185 cms and 220 lbs and all my big lifts are ~120% BW.[/quote]

When I talk about “density work” (doing 20-30 reps with 70-80% in as little time as possible) I’m not talking about the hardness of the muscle but in the density of the work (doing a lot of work in little time).