T Nation

Deloading a Necessity?

Please excuse my ignorance, but before I started reading this site regularly, I had never heard of the term deloading before. I ran a few searches and found out that it is a short period of time, like a week, in which people train at lower intensity or lower volume after a long duration on a routine.

My question is, is this necessary to do? I've been pushing myself to the limit in the gym for 6 months now and haven't done a deloading week. Should I take one? Is it only if you start to slow or stop in making gains?

Thanks in advance for any advice on the subject.

Just do a search and you will find plenty of great stuff. Check this article out (not necessarily for the program, but it has a pretty good description of how different lifters should go about deloading) http://www.tmuscle.com/free_online_article/sports_body_training_performance/get_bigger_by_doing_less

It all depends on the program, I just finished doing SS for two months and will be doing a deload week this coming week, but if you feel that you can keep pushing through and get good results without a deload then go for it. Make sure you look around, there is some great material for you to read on this website!

Not even a little bit.

Well, if for example for bench press you do:

Monday: 6 sets of 6 at 70% 1RM
Wednesday: 7 sets of 5 at 75% 1 RM
Friday: 8 sets of 4 at 80% 1RM
Saturday (yes, Saturday) 10 sets of 3 at 85%

and then do the same the next week but at a significant jump in weight, and the same again the week after that but again with a weight jump,

Then you should have an easy week for week 4. Or at least easier.