Deload Week Question

Im wondering if I may get some input here. Im currently doing Jim Wendlers
5-3-1 programs. After 4 years of working out Im finely on a good training destination.

Next week will be the deload week of my second cycle. My body feels beat up Im wondering if I should take that entire week off from lifting and just push and pull my prowler.

Some backgroundâ?¦ Im 53 years oldâ?¦ 64 205 A former 290lb fat ass. I work in construction and run an elite crew of very high end finish carpenters our work demands on the body are about a 6.5 on a construction scale of 1 to 10.

I will say that after the past 3 week cycle Im looking forward to the deload week. I just dont want to screw anything up â?¦ this program is working so good. My body fat is down to 14% from 18% when I started the program and the scales are not moving staying steady at 205. My diet is simpleâ?¦ I just eat clean with an every10 day pig out. While my lifts are not in a seasoned lifters category they are moving up as Jim predicts they would

Thank You
Mike

I think JW himself talks about skiving off when he feels like it.

Take it easy on the deload and do more if you find you feel like it. It’s just one deload after all.

I’m on my 8th cycle and I don’t do much on the deload weeks other than active recovery. You should feel like you need a deload in week 3 and during the deload you will want to get back in the gym. Just do what feels right whether its some light gym work as Jim suggests, or bodyweight exercises, or just fun stuff like swimming and walking the dog.

I’ll admit that when I do nothing, the first week coming back feels like I’ve lost a little muscle endurance, but not strength.

Welcome the the old farts forum. Nice to have some more 50+ guys here.
Hope you decide to start posting a log.

Is your goal to gain weight (ie muscle) or lose more weight (sorry not clear from your post).