Deep Squats and Knees

Hello i am a jym coach from israel.
i learnd that deep squat can hurt your knees and lower back
the studies shows that it is true but still there are people which say the opposite that deep squat is better for the knees.A trainer who work with me told me that those studies are “old school”,and you should go down as deep as you can while you squating.Knee biomechanics of the dynamic squat exercise - PubMed

A friend of mine suggest me to ask here if deep squat is realy isnt good for the knees

Thank you

Is this a serious question?

There is no debate. Squatting high is worse for your knees than squatting deep.

I guess I’ll humor the question on the assumption it isn’t totally troll.

Deep squats: more force applied to the patellofemoral joint, althought the force does not “increase significantly” between parallel and below parallel. Less force (or torque, can’t remember which) applied to the menisci and MCL, thus decreasing stress on those areas, limiting chance of wear and tear to the menisci and MCL, but if proper care is not taken, there is a higher chance of patellar mis-tracking.

Parallel and above: less force on the patellofemoral joint, but more shear forces and more force applied to the menisci and MCL.

long story short: what csulli said.

[quote]nkklllll wrote:

Deep squats: more force applied to the patellofemoral joint, althought the force does not “increase significantly” between parallel and below parallel. Less force (or torque, can’t remember which) applied to the menisci and MCL, thus decreasing stress on those areas, limiting chance of wear and tear to the menisci and MCL, but if proper care is not taken, there is a higher chance of patellar mis-tracking.

Parallel and above: less force on the patellofemoral joint, but more shear forces and more force applied to the menisci and MCL.

long story short: what csulli said.[/quote]