T Nation

Debating If I'm Ready

Hi guys,
I’ve been competing in powerlifting for four years and lifting weights for six, and I am debating whether or not I am ready for a cycle.

The reason being, I am young (21), but farily advanced. I have squatted 480 raw at USAPL depth at 198 and done some decent raw BP (325 and 405 single ply) as well as 530 raw DL. As far as diet goes, I stick to a 40/30/30 (p/c/f) split for the most part and ~3100 seems to be sufficient for maintenance. I’m guessing ~4200 would be good on gear.

I am looking into doing strongman, as I feel like it will be better suited for my body type (I’m 5’11 and not really built for PL). Also, I seem to have a problem getting my weight above 205 without it being straight fat (I can get my weight up past that, it isn’t pretty though) and for stongman I would like to compete in the 230 class.

I’ve read most of the newbie thread and many of Cy’s articles (especially the ones pointed out) and was looking at doing a cycle of short length (2-3 weeks) because from my understanding this will keep side effects very minimal, which is important to me since I would like to live a long healthy life. I also am not looking to get up to 230 fast, I would be happy at a solid 220 9 months from now.

I feel like for my first cycle, copying Furious George’s sample would be acceptable.
INJ ONLY (3on, 4off, 3on, 4off, 3on, 8off)
W 1-3 Test Prop 75mg/d and NPP 50mg/d
W 4-7 off
W 8-10 Test Prop 75mg/d and NPP 50mg/d
W 11-14 off
W 15-17 Test Prop 75mg/d and NPP 50mg/d
W 18-25 off

From my understanding, anti-estrogens aren’t included because the dosage is low and the cycle is short. Or did I miss something and need to look into getting clomid? I’m guessing in weeks 18-25 I need clomid?

I know I am young, but I am more experienced than most my age and that is also why I am asking for your opinions and thoughts.

Thank you for your time.