Debate: Hate Speech on Campus

Having a debate tomorrow in class. I think the T-Nation community usually has good ideas/ valid points.

What do you guys think?

Hi Liquid. You need to tell me more information about you debate. I am an attorney, so I might be able to provide you good insight. Feel free to PM me if you like. But in a broad sense I think we are paying too much attention to it. Defamation laws protect individuals from lies being spoken or published about them. Hate speech speaks more about the person saying it than the subject.

If a white person shouts the “N” word at a black person, I don’t think most would think “yeah I agree” they would think “wow, that white guy is an ignorant racist.” But hate speech can provoke violence and lead to other illegal acts which should be addressed appropriately.

Hopefully that helps, and seriously, if you want to chat more, PM me.

Post this in the political forum and you will probably get good discussion. (for a little while)

will do.

Liquid447:

The debate will be over if the campus bans “hate-speech” or sets a policy where a student could be suspended or expelled for participating in such an event, does that violate their 1st amendment rights?

My thoughts are this: We are getting dangerously close to a dictatorship if we start banning speech. I do realize the public policy reason behind this and behind the ban on yelling “Fire!” in a crowded venue. People could get hurt.

Hate speech usually occurs in a different scenario: two people in a heated exchange. There was a scene in Monty Python or some other movie where a white guy puts body armor on, a helmut, and walks into a groups of black people and yells “N***R!!!” And then runs like hell. In this case, sure, it causes mass chaos, and I think there are enough laws right now to address it. For one, that person could be charge with harrassment and or inciting a riot.