Dealing With Deadbeat Dad

Hello T-Nation brain trust.

A relative of mine has an issue that she asked for my advice on. I had none for her, as I have zero experience dealing with this sort of thing. She raised her eyebrow at me when I told her I’d ask a bunch of meatheads on the internet, but this seemed like as good of a place to start as any.

Long story short. Boy, now 14, born out-of-wedlock. Court-ordered agreement in-place since sometime around boy’s birth where father pays $68/week in child support and has visitation every other weekend. He also gets to claim him on taxes every other year.

During the course of last 14 years, father has been spotty on child-support and rarely honors the visitation agreement. Mother has kept a journal of many of these events, especially over the last several years. State has record of his support delinquency history. She also has many of his voicemails saved where he is refusing to help with ortho bills, generally being an asshole, refusing to take his son, etc.

No physical abuse from the father, which is about all he seems to have going for him. So we’re just dealing with a kid’s lifetime of disappointment and all of the confused feelings that come from a situation like that, plus the general frustration of a very good mother who has always honored her end of the arrangement.

Father of the year runs an all-cash scrap metal business out of his pickup truck.

Now, the point of this thread. Mother wants to go to court to have the agreement amended. No visitation for father and no claiming the kid on taxes are the things she wants most. She will still let him see the boy, but she sees no point in having an agreement that she treats as an obligation but the father does not.