Deads Vs. Squats

This is kind of an odd question, but just bear with me…

What is the “normal” ratio of deads vs. squat numbers?

That is to say, many people can deadlift more than they can squat…Personally, I can’t deadlift worth the shit, but I can squat like it’s my job in life (DL 315, Squat 515 (probably just because I’ve been squatting for years but deadlifting for a couple of months)) Obviously it’s mostly individual, but can anyone shed some light on this…What is it, 2:1, 1.5:1?

squat 515 is ATG?

nothing like that exists

Do you do full squats or partials?

Typically, the people who squat more than they dead lift are the ones who use the wide stance/low bar position.

Traditional olympic squats tend to be weaker than deadlifts due to relying on the quad instead of the hamstrings/glutes.

I use a very wide stance, I don’t go ass to grass but I do go below parallel…

I’d also like to think that the reason I can squat so much more than I can dead is because even before I began working out, like as a child growing up, I always had extremely strong legs…I always had the longest foot on the soccer field, and I kicked for my high school’s football team…Plus, as I said, I have been training the squat for a much longer time than the deadlift…

Short arms, short legs, longer midsection = shit deadlift compared to squat.

Usually when squatting in gear you get massive discrepancies (Mike miller very recently squatted 1015, benched 750 and deadlifted 640…)

Christian T has previously stated that those with long limbs tend to better pullers (they’re better at power cleans and deadlifts rather than squats). He’s mentioned the strengths of long-limbed individuals in this thread: Strength Training, Bodybuilding & Online Supplement Store - T NATION

He’s also given ratios to determine if you’re long-limbed or not : Strength Training, Bodybuilding & Online Supplement Store - T NATION

Hope this helps

thanks for all the replies…