T Nation

Deadlifts (Scared)

Wassup everybody this is my first post...I have been training for about a 10 mon with one of my freinds and he is scared to deadlift. Since i started my deadlift has increased alot (im guessin cuz im a beginner) and i know all of the benefits of the sqaut and deadlift and i just cant seem to get him to join me. He thinks he will pull something for some reason.

What would you guys say to him to get him to train these great excercises with me. lol its lonely deadlifting and sqauting alone .

Your friend is right, it is very easy for beginners to pull something in the deadlift, often because they either haven't been coached correctly on how to perform the exercise safely, or they lack certain flexibilities to maintain a neutral spine through out the movement.

Just find a few deadlifting articles here on TNation and send him the link. Practice with him and help coach him until he can keep correct form. Also, and this is VASTLY important, start light. Injuring yourself picking up an empty 45 lbs barbell would be hard to do. He should be starting with just the bar and should progress slowly, adding 10s on either side until he can do 135 safely with a full range of motion.

I know you said it's lonely squatting and deadlifting on your own, but if you want to gain serious size and strength, you are going to have to get used to lifting alone. As you get older, your life is going to become busier and busier and you will have more and more responsibilities. You won't always have a lifting partner EVERY single workout, so get used to it pal.

Now go get your deadlifts in, if nothing else, when he sees the strength increases in your other lifts, and he's still at the same place he was several months ago, he will be convinced.

Good luck!

tell him to try squats and deadlifts with just the bar to learn form and then once the form is correct, add weight. There is no sense in trying to lift maximum weight until he knows what he's doing.