T Nation

Deadlift Weak at the Lockout

I missed a pull attempt at the final few inches, the bar was well past my knees but I just couldn’t lock it out. This always happens when I try for a new deadlift PR.

I need to know what muscles are failing here and how do I train to strengthen them.

(I was pulling sumo style, if it makes a difference.)

Try doing rack pulls. Just set the bar jusr below where you fail and put some of those in on your back day. It helps.

rack pulls.

Shrug your way to heaven.

most people have problems off the floor when sumoing. How long have you been lifting and what is your max?

Glutes.

[quote]zephead4747 wrote:
most people have problems off the floor when sumoing. How long have you been lifting and what is your max?[/quote]

I have been deadlifting for about 12 months, but I was training stupidly for about half of that(deadlifting too often and not making progress.) My max is 435, my bodyweight is 165 if it matters.

Usually I have no problem off the floor. When I fail a PR attempt it is in the last few inches. I will research rack pulls and give them a try.

well conventinal is upper back and glutes and traps dont know if its the same but matt kroc had that problem and started doing db rows up to like 40 reps or something and it worked for him

[quote]Tomachicken wrote:
zephead4747 wrote:
most people have problems off the floor when sumoing. How long have you been lifting and what is your max?

I have been deadlifting for about 12 months, but I was training stupidly for about half of that(deadlifting too often and not making progress.) My max is 435, my bodyweight is 165 if it matters.

Usually I have no problem off the floor. When I fail a PR attempt it is in the last few inches. I will research rack pulls and give them a try.[/quote]

it could be speed off the floor. If you get some momentum going, it can help with getting it all the way to lock out.