T Nation

Deadlift Trouble

Hi,
I’m new to T-Nation and fairly new to lifting (since November). I have some trouble with my deadlifts & would appreciate advice. I’ve been told (by people in the gym) that I’m rounding my back, and I’ve had difficulty fixing my form. It’s been starting to hurt my lower back and I’d like to fix this before any real problems develop.

Relevant info: female, age 20, no injuries, 5’6’’, 132.

What I’m doing, I think, is bending over at the waist, only bending my knees a little, and picking the weight up like a suitcase. My weights have actually gone up quickly doing that; I can do 197 for reps without much trouble. But if I bend my knees all the way, with my butt below my knees the way a deadlift is supposed to look, I have no idea where to push from.

Nothing will budge. Even when I tried with just the bar it wasn’t quite right; if it’s light enough I can just squat it up, but I don’t think that’s the same thing.

I’ve gotten some advice already, and I’m going to start with that and whatever else you folks have to offer.

1. Good mornings – I started with that this morning, 6x6@70.
  2. Rack pulls – haven’t done one yet, but will start tomorrow.
  3. Bulgarian split squats – started today, with 30 lb dumbbells.
  4. Hip mobility exercises – haven’t started yet. I have terrible flexibility (can’t touch my toes or kick straight out.)

Is this good? Anything else I should do? Can I substitute good mornings and rack pulls for deadlifts for a couple of weeks?

Hi Alisa. I’ve been given some great advice by posting a video and having my form critiqued that way. It’s much easier than trying to do it with words.

I understand, and I’m sorry, but I don’t have a camera. If I get access to one I’ll post.

arch your back poke your bum out while standing straight;then bend at the hips and with the knees keeping the bar close to your shins hold and stand-up straight without losing the arch.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G6aM0CYPh3w