T Nation

Deadlift Tips for a Beginner?

Hey guys, I am new to powerlifting, and trying to focus on the deadlift, Do you have any tips for a begineer? Right now I deadlift 180kg and been able to increase it by 10kg each week. So, do you have any general tips on recovery, warm-ups, form or programming for a begineer?

Thanks!

I shot this back in 2012ish, my technique hasn’t really changed. You might find it helpful.

Thanks for the video man! found it very useful.

thanks I also found that really useful. I use a wide stance so I have learned a lot from this . I struggle to get the weight moving off the floor. I have noticed when I go narrower it’s easier. It feels very awkward though.

[quote]TheChosenOne98 wrote:
Hey guys, I am new to powerlifting, and trying to focus on the deadlift, Do you have any tips for a begineer? Right now I deadlift 180kg and been able to increase it by 10kg each week. So, do you have any general tips on recovery, warm-ups, form or programming for a begineer?

Thanks! [/quote]

That’s a nice pull for a beginner. What do you weigh?

Definitely use a narrower stance like in the video - a bit less than shoulder width. The best guide to how wide to go I’ve found is to set up as if you’re going to jump as high/far as possible. You’ll automatically set up in the best position for your body. That’s your stance width and foot angle (got that from a Charles Poliquin article). Generally, feet pointing slightly outwards is good, and push your knees out too.

There’s a ton of information about how to pull, and its a pretty individual thing beyond the basics so hard to give advice without a video.

For what its worth, the most important bits I’ve learned so far IMO:

• bar over mid foot at the start
  • drag the bar up your legs (so wear thick, long socks)
  • pull explosively off the floor without losing position and tightness
  • don’t spend too long between gripping and pulling, that just makes it harder