Deadlift Technique Help

Hi guys i am just beginning starting strength. My Bench / Press / Squat are fine technique wise as i have done those lifts before. But i need help with part of my deadlift.

Its an issue that seems stupid but here it goes. My pulling technique on the deadlift feels and looks fine. It’s my lowering technique that sucks balls. I tested myself for the program and pulled 60kg then 70, 80, then 90. anything above 80 feels really hard at this stage.

What is fucking up my back though is the lowering part of the lift. Even at 60kg i seem to struggle to lower the bar with a flat back. I am lifting at a gym that does not like the sound of plates hitting the deck so i can’t just drop the bar from the pull or lower the weight with too much speed or i get cautioned.

SO i need to control the lift pretty much all the way up and most of the way down.

I understand the biomechnics of putting your hips back to clear the knees and lowering ect. Just my ability to do that in form on a lower is only on quite light weights (40 kgs) where as the pulling part i can crank up to 90kgs.

So my question is what is the best way to work on this giving the constraints of my body and gym.

Should i:

1. just work on conventional deadlifts but stay at a weight light enough that i can control the whole movement and slowly ramp it up from there

2. try sumo pulls? dunno if the easier clearence over knees makes controlling the lower easier?

3. do rack pulls with the bar just below the knee.

and no they don’t have a trap bar at the gym.

Any advice appreciated.

1. Stick your ass back and bend your knees, it’s not harder than that. Sumo or rack pulls often make more noise than conventional deads.

You could post a vid showing how you lower the bar if you want better advice.

yeah i understand the mechanics of it. Perhaps to be clearer - my lower back is far stronger on the pulling part and seemingly weak on the lowering part.