T Nation

Deadlift Technical Issue

okay so ever since I started Powerlifting I’ve lived by a few virtues that Separate the purists from everyone else. you know like Go RAW, compete in all three lifts, that kind of thing and ever since I started lifting I’ve wanted to be a Record holder in the deadlift! but my conventional DL sucks!

when I started I would pyramid up in weight, practice technique, NEVER dare finish a bad rep. if I felt my back rounding or that I was about to hitch I would just throw the bar down, take off some weight and try again.

so I just decided to go semi sumo. go watch Ed Coan or Mike Miller Deadlift my and there’s look basically the same. the reason is because if I go very wide like you see most lifters do to relay on leverage I lose balance and my strength is useless. but if I go heels together I feel like I’m going to pass out. and not a good way.

and then I watched the videos of the 1977 Worlds again and noticed that no matter how flexible or strong they were they all were blood red in the face and struggling with there true max which brings up my next question.

I should just embrace the blood rushing to my face and not let it bother me and just gut out the pain shouldn’t I? but also I shouldn’t feel light headed with 135 should I? I deadlift almost 400 with the semi sumo (forget what I posted about almost shoulder width. I have wide shoulders so my stance is almost shoulder width but only if I bring my feet inward.

i wouldnt consider shoulder width semi-sumo. most conventional dl’ers use a hip/shoulder width stance. on my dl my toes arent pointed out as far as they are when i squat, but i also squat with a wider stance than when i dl.
call me weird but i absolutely love a hard pull, whiting out after a huge pr pull is what keeps me going for bigger numbers

Some lifters mark a good deadlift session by how many blood vessels they broke in their eyeballs.