T Nation

Deadlift: Speed Off the Floor

Anyone have any personal experiences that has helped with speed off the floor?

try the sumo stance for a few weeks

i can DL 405…i know this might be a stupid question but how much could I sumo Stance?

The reason i am asking this is because my 315 is just as slow off the floor as my 405…

Im not to sure on this, but I think you can deadlift more in a sumo stance than in conventional because of the ROM off the floor is shorter.

I’m no expert, but doing some box squats might help.

Try front sqauts, and pulling from a lower position. Use 35lb plates instead of 45’s. Stand on a box etc… Both work very well…

[quote]xivb4m wrote:
i can DL 405…i know this might be a stupid question but how much could I sumo Stance?

The reason i am asking this is because my 315 is just as slow off the floor as my 405…[/quote]

you will pull more in the sumo position, how much is hard to say every ones diferent.

speed deadlifts with 60% of your max 6 sets of 1

would probly be beter doing say 8 sets of 3, with bands attached.

[quote]BigMike wrote:
speed deadlifts with 60% of your max 6 sets of 1[/quote]

Definitely add some speed work. Get your motor units moving faster.

What helped me was high bar squats, same stance width I use to deadlift (so alot closer than squat stance- heels maybe 6 inches apart) go below parallel and hold 3 seconds. Concentrate on staying tight and really exploding out of the bottom. Do maybe 2-3 sets of 3, not max, just enough to strain a bit on the last one- high reps and your lower back will fatigue and your form goes out the window.

This helped me because I was doing these with the same stance and back position I use to deadlift. This also helped me at the bottom of my squat which had alsways been somewhat weak.

Just my 2 cents

all great suggestions…thanks for all the responses i know what i need to do.