Deadlift Recovery

I’ve been lifting for about 4 years now, and have been reading T-Nation for 2. Ive decided to start trying to get my Deadlift strong and have been doing a day a week where i do 8 sets of 3 for about 4 weeks now, and it seems like i cant recover in one day. Ill eat well, get at least 9 hrs of sleep, and I still am flat for my next workout.

Is there something I should be doing to recover better? Im not usually too sore, I just am weak and w/o energy…its real pain in the ass and makes my thursdays less productive. My only option right now is to possibly move that to fridays (i do a 5 day plan) which would mean i have ot redesign my play. Everything is progressing pretty well, but I think i can do better…anywho, any recovery suggestions?

Ok, for the vast majority of people, 8x3 on heavy deadlifts, PLUS 4 other days of working out is way too much. To recover in one day, regardless of your genetics, from heavy DLing is unreasonable if you are moving heavy. What does your workout look like?

sleep more, eat more carbs. thats what works for me.

especially sleeping more. even if i eat heck of a lot, if i sleep 8 hours i could still feel like doing even less weigh. but if i sleep like 10 hours then i feel ready to kill a rhino.

though i agree 83 is too much. 53 or 6*3 may be better

also try taking a nap after your workout, it always works for me.

btw, your avatar is funny as hell!

You’re experianced enough…you don’t need people telling you you’re ‘overtraining’ thats a personal thing. Its possible to train 5 even 6 days a week with overtraining.

What sort of deadlifting program are you doing? With what load? You may just need to reduce the volume or the load, changing the intensity of the following days training is also an option.

why is a guy punching a chick in the groin funny ?

What load are you lifting? (%1RM)
What does the rest of your routine look like?
What is your goal? (why are you focusing on your deadlift strength?)