Deadlift Question

Doing 5/3/1 but starting to get burnt out on pulling from the floor every week. Wanted to see how many people pull from the floor and who pull from the floor every few weeks and what do they do for their training if they don’t pull from the floor everyweek. Thanks.

I pull from the floor but I’m a serious beginner; my current max working set on 5/3/1 day is 112 kg (aiming for 5 reps). I manage it by making sure that my assistance work is very light (e.g. single leg squats/single leg deadlifts, overhead shrugs/pallof presses), making sure that I’m not doing too many reps on the all out set to leave something in the tank, and putting it first day of the week. Oh and I always eat something at all costs before deadlifting.

I used to do chins 2 days every week as it’s what I’m weakest at, with one of it on deadlifting day, but that really drained me during lectures (I’m still a student). Now that I can do 3 sets of 5 from none at all a year ago, I’m doing them only once a week which helped a lot to manage fatigue.

[quote]bgill2040 wrote:
Doing 5/3/1 but starting to get burnt out on pulling from the floor every week. Wanted to see how many people pull from the floor and who pull from the floor every few weeks and what do they do for their training if they don’t pull from the floor everyweek. Thanks.[/quote]

First, are you correctly doing the deload that is in the 5/3/1? Second, are you going for rep maxes everytime you pull or are you picking your battles like Jim says to? Third, are you eating and sleeping enough? Fourth, are you going majorly overboard on assistance lifts?

Lift three days a week, which will have you pulling ever other week.