Deadlift PR 405 - 2 years in the making

It took about 2 years but I finally hit 400 on the deadlift. When I started lifting in 2012 I was super weak. I was 31, 165 pounds, no muscle. Now I am 33, 208 pounds, getting strong. I found this website learned and learned as much as I could. When I look back at my first posts to this site it hard to watch. I was clueless.

I went to a weight lifting seminar this week, got free coaching from the presenter (Josh Bryant) and made a 35 pound PR. I was not using a belt either which is rare for me. If you are new to this site, keep learning and lifting. If I can get strong anyone can. Also dont forget to eat and lift with people that are better than you. The faster you get a network of experienced lifters to lift with the better you will be.

What did he teach you? Because that looked like a warmup.

[quote]Silyak wrote:
What did he teach you? Because that looked like a warmup. [/quote]

1. If you are going to use a switch grip for heavy sets, use it in all your sets. It will help warm up your bicep tendon

2. Make sure you are not flexing your supinated arm on the lockout

3. When pulling sumo get tight in your groin and push your knees out.

4. When you get up to a pull commit to it. Either you get the lift or your back snaps in half.

the most I have ever lifted before that was 370 in January with a belt, nose tork, and so so form. I guess 7 months of training the lift and then getting some technical help is what did it. I a still learning how to train my mind and body to pull max effort weights.

I’m new to this and 46 years old and 190 lbs. Been lifting a westside program for 5 months. I don’t have that bar speed at 400 lbs and my 1RM right now is 420. So I’d say you have an easy 440 in you.

Go heavier and embrace the grind. You are way stronger than 400.