Deadlift Pains

I’ve been doing the Starting Strength routine for 2 months now. Prior to this, I’ve never done deadlifts. That being said, I’m sure my form needs some work, but I don’t think it is all that bad.

When I first started with the routine I’d feel pain in my low back, so I dropped the weight and really started focusing on form. With the lighter weight I feel less pain, but I still experience a tingling sensation in my legs. It might also be worth mentioning that I don’t have any problems with the squats or power cleans.

Now, I do have some injuries as a result of years of jiu-jitsu. I have a bulging disc (L3-L4), and I used to experience sciatica years ago (which I feel is returning).

The way I see it I have a couple options:

1. Forget about deadlifts all together
  2. Focus on other lifts and come back to deadlifts once my core is stronger

What are your thoughts? Also, what lifts would you recommend as an alternative to deadlifts?

Maybe try pulling from pins or raised blocks? Go as high as you need to to get rid of the pain. You’ll be able to use heavier weights too so that’s a plus. Work your way back to the floor as your back allows.

drop deadlifts for a while. get your body in check. see a physio if you have to. find out what imbalances exist and get those taken care of. then slowly work your way back to deadlifting. its been working ok for me.

Thanks for the responses. I’ll go ahead and drop the deadlifts for a while, but what should I do in its place?

Here’s what my current workout looks like after dropping deads:
Workout A: Squats, bench, ???
Workout B: Squats, shoulder press, power cleans, pullups

Maybe after a while I’ll work my way back into deadlifting following the suggestions by StrengthDawg.

The tingling sensation in your legs might be a result of a pinched nerve.