T Nation

Deadlift Help

I've been lifting for several years. I will be in my first meet in five weeks. I just finished an eight week cycle with a max deadlift of 450 (raw). I had a goal of 500 for the meet. I'm not sure if I will make it or not. I have a couple questions. First should I stsrt training with my suit at this point? Second, to get ready I was going to focus on doubles and triples. Any thoughts on this?

I think everyone would need a little more information to help you out. Are you only wearing a suit for deadlift? That is all you mentioned, do you plan on wearing a bench shirt, squat suit, knee wraps? Are you lifting single ply or multiply? If this is your first meet have you ever trained in a suit before or will this be your first time to put one on? Provide a little more information and I think amongst the guys here we can help you out.

I will be just deadlifting. I have not been training with my DL suit. I was planning on starting next week to get the feel of it.

If it's your first meet, why not just pull raw?

Otherwise, I'd have suggested you should have trained in it already. Training in gear is very individual. I took to pulling in a suit like a duck to water but other people have more difficulty and it changes how they do it. If the suit is tight and short in the straps, it's tough to get to the bar and can pull you out of position.

As far as training goes, if you have no gear experience you should've been training in your suit. With training, the 5/3/1 put 20lbs on all my lifts. I did a max lift, did the 5/3/1, did a new max the fifth week and saw the increase. My gear recommendations, if you haven't decided, would be the regular Titan DL suit or the Titan Velocity DL suit.