Deadlift Help Please...

i watch videos and am trying to use good form. i’ll warm up playing basketball then do some body weight squats emphasizing on a good strech at the lower position of the squat. i’m knew to dead lifts so my strength isn’t much. 225 including bar.

after i dead lift for the next few days i feel very tight in my back and can barely stand bent over and it also feels like i pinch a nerve. if i can get these down to where i’m doing them right with know problems i would like to continue.

any suggestions???

thank you.

This happened to me when I started deadlifting because I used bad form and rounded my back.
Try and video-tape yourself and study your form to see problems.
Also, you could start stretching right after your training session, and taking a good old-fashioned cold bath.
I find it reduces DOMS a lot, and isn’t that bad if you put headphones on and try to focus on the music.

I’m fairly new to dead lifting as well and 225 would have been heavy for me when I started. I found that I was getting the pain as well, but if you keep working on your form and also keep dead lifting on a regular basis you’ll find the pain’ll go away. I also have started taking a 7 day break every 4 weeks. When I return I’m stronger than I was when I left. Yesterday I dead lifted 365 lbs and no back pain today at all.

Yeah! no shit.

DL - never try to lift a heav weight till you have form down.

i didnt lift over 135lbs for the first 2 years!! I would do set of 20 with the bar 3-4 times for the first 6 months or so…

Forget about lifting heavy… form is so so so important on this exercise, get it wrong and you can cause some serious damage.

225 is too much.

Either videotape yourself, or (as that isnt an option for your average bear) just ask someone who knows - to spot you and critique your form.