T Nation

Deadlift Form Help

Okay so about a year ago I deadlifted a single 267.5 (2x bodyweight). My Squat at that time was bellow 135. I took a break from deadlifting and now my squat is at 170x5 but my deadlift is at 195x5 and that might be a stretch. In my work outs I deadlift 1 set for 5 reps either once or twice a week. I have been using starting strength for the past 4 months now and it has been great for my squat but not much for my deadlift. I also am really paranoid about my back bending and whether I am using too much weight.

So first question.

Did I develop and imbalance from squating? If so what is the best way to fix it?

Second is my deadlift as ugly as i think it is and if so do I need to drop weight or should i just keep working on it? I have also started to move to 2x5. I was hoping more volume might help.

The video has just my first 3 reps.

Anyway, thanks for your input in advance.

You look ok on the deadlift, ok but not great. Your flexibility is barely and I mean barely sufficient, which really means that it is deficient. Your problem is that from the floor, your hamstrings and/or glutes dont allow you to get to an optimal starting position.

Thus, you are left in a place where your hamstrings or glutes have almost pulled your back out of neutral by the time your in the starting blocks. What this means is that you can be pulled (by the weight) out of your flat back position easier, since your flat back position is barely there.

Also, just taking time off deadlift will make you weaker at the deadlift. Your spinal erectors, though they work in a squat, dont work near as much as they doing during deads. It is also much easier to tell when you are doing something wrong when deadlifting because you are starting at the hardest position which is standard from the floor, where as with a squat your just dropping to some arbitrary place that may feel deep enough for you.