T Nation

Deadlift Form Check

Hey guys, i’m new to TNation and I must say I enjoy the website. I’ve been lifting for awhile on machines but recently got a power rack and bench, so things are starting to get serious. Obviously, squats and deadlifts are the 2 things i’m very dedicated to but i’m worried about my form. I’m trying to sit into them more to give me more leverage and take pressure off of my back but I need help.

Take a look and give me some tips,
Thanks!

Ur sitting way to low,

Ur kinda moving backwards just before u lift, and then ur shoulders raise a little as well, check 15-17 seconds.

Keep your lower back arched, pull the tension out of your arms,and retract your shoulder blades.

Also on the way down u seem to push the bar forward then u bring it closer to legs again like an arch,

Most injuries happen on the eccentric part of a dead lift, the idea is to get the bar back to the ground as fast and as safe possible.

Thanks buddy, I appreciate the feedback. I check youtube and so many of these videos say different things, I think I need to get a personal trainer over here just to coach me. I know the repercussions of a bad deadlift and i’d rather shell out some money on a PT than a chiropractor :slight_smile:

this may help…

you are squatting the weight up. start by watching every great deadlifter (conventional) on youtube.

[quote]COMEONDIESEL wrote:

This guy knows his shit. Deadlifts are HIP DOMINANT. Think about driving the living shit out of your heels into the ground and ‘FUCKING’ the bar (srs). Try and incorporate a regular stretching routine somewhere for your hip flexors.

Other points. Keep the bar close to your body as you pull. Feet roughly hip-width apart. Your arms are merely hooks; never let them become slack at any point in the movement (hello bicep tear). Good lower back arch.