T Nation

Deadlift Form Check

Just started lifting again after taking 1-2 months off due to sickness and injury. This was done 5 weeks after I started lifting again and I felt like most of the time my form isn't too good (I never had a trainer or coach to teach me). So I started recording my lifts and found that this one was better form than my previous attempts but I'm still not confident. Help me out guys.

140kg 4x @70kg BW.

EDIT One more thing I forgot to ask.

I covered my barbell with hockey tape (at least where I grip it for Deads) cause it's very slippery and I could barely pull 120kg without the tape. Will my grip suffer or is it considered the same as using chalk? Also, is it still a "RAW" lift when you use chalk?

I'd prefer to be able to see your whole body, but the first thing I notice is this: When you start the lift, your hips rise before the bar rises. That is not ideal form. Work on keeping your butt lower and driving with your quads at the start of the movement, instead of bringing your hips up and having your lower back do all the work.

On the other hand, bravo for doing dead-stop deadlifts, and not bouncing them off the floor.

I've actually been told that. Definitely need to work on that on my next training session.

Is what I'm doing dangerous or is it just me using the wrong muscle or certain muscle too early?

And thanks. I try hard to not let them drop or bounce off the floor cause it makes too much noise. My sister actually came in after my 4th rep cause the walls were shaking and she heard me grunt so she thought I injured myself so I had to edit it out ^^

I'll try to get a whole body shot next time but it's hard cause my room's not big enough.