Deadlift Debauchery

Heya T-pals. I completed week 1 of Ian King’s “Limping into November” having done deads yesterday. Today, while my legs are pain-free, I have some discomfort in my lower back. I have deduced from this state of being that there is something awry in my form. Now, obviously it would be unreasonable to ask your comments on my form when you’ve not seen me deadlift, however I will request of my T-bretheren soem tips on keeping my spine in line when liftin’. Thank you as always. Lord, I feel like such a whore.

MBE: "Drunk off yesterday's protein pancakes since 1932."

-Eric

When I deadlift, and I’ve been doing it for going on 2 years now, my low back generally has some discomfort if I’m on the edge of good form. If I keep the weight the same for a couple of workouts the discomfort doesn’t develop. Deadlifting does hit the low back, and glutes, like no other lift and it takes time for your body to adjust to it. Keep your ass low, shoulders high and square, and don’t pull too much weight until your weak area…low back for 99% of us…catches up.

I’m not sure if this applies to everyone - but I know for me, if I try to keep my head ‘too up’ then i have an excessive arch in my lower back. To the point where it is sore the next day even if everything else feels spiffy.
Judging from a lot of your other posts, you’ve got a great handle on the significance form, and know Ian’s ideas fairly well - it could just be that doing Deadlifts Ian King Style hit your lower back in a different and special way.