Deadlift Critique/Help Me Achieve My Dream

Hey all,

I’ve been running 5/3/1 for about 3 months now and am about to start my 4th cycle. The numbers are starting to get heavier but I am still making some sweet PR’s so generally, everything is going pretty well. However, I’d like to tailor my current assistance regiment (which isn’t very focused towards my weak spots) to hit my weak spots. I start slowing down hard right before locking out on my deadlifts and my grip starts slipping, even with a mixed grip. I’ve started to train my grip with grip trainers and am seeing some improvements but feel I can do more. Additionally, I have been trying to strengthen my abs and hams/glutes by doing hyperextensions, decline sit-ups, etc.

When I first started lifting, I could only deadlift 90lbs x 3 and that was heavy for me. Since starting, one of my dreams has been to deadlift 405x5 and I got a small taste of that dream when I hit 405x2 after my 5/3/1 week, hitting 345x9. I’d like to be able to make a decent attempt at my dream in about 2-3 months time. Any help you guys can provide to help me obtain that dream would mean the world to me.

Here are some videos to put a picture to my problems:

345x9:

405x2:

Ok, I can see you have no chalk on your hands. GET SOME. You can also try wrist wraps, when you get them tight enough and about 1" down from your palm you will find it snaps your fingers closed. Nothing wrong with wraps, they’re even fine in USAPL.

I’m also certain that bar is shit. If that’s a mainstream gym, the knurling is more than likely awful. The chalk will do wonders.

Your form looks fine to me. Narrow stance but it seems to work for you. Keep doing what you’re doing as you’re on the right track.

Keep kicking ass, the suggestions I made will get you to 450 easy.

Best of luck!