Deadlift - Am I Rounding My Back?

Hello all

Simple one, is my back rounded?

This snapshot is at the point where the weight leaves the ground on a lift of 127.5 KG

I have been deadliftfing for 6 months. I try to tuck my chin in but I can see my head raised here a bit and do try to keep a straight back…but this seems to be my natural “shape” when lifting.

Is your back rounded I would say “Yes”, At this point in the picture it may not to appear that way but the next frame or 2 I would suspect it would be more evident. The one thing I see is that your hips are not far from being higher than your shoulders which would definitely cause you to round and put a tremendous load on the lumbar part of your back. I suggest working on driving off your heals maybe use a lighter weight and do pause pulls making sure your shoulders do lean forward.

Yes. If you are truly inflexible, you could lift off blocks or plates. For now you could bend your knees more and make it more like a squat. Just to keep you safe in the meantime. Check out the deadlift threads here and the instuctionals on youtube. There is a lot of information there. Look up Johnny Candito he has a video on not rounding your back.

What’s the wood siding on your house called? The orange.

1 Like

You might be better off with sumo, some people can’t set up for conventional with a neutral spine but can do it for sumo.

thanks to all that have commented on the question and suggestions, much appreciated.

jim - yes will bear this in mind next time, hips lower, push through heels

deci - flexibility hasn’t been an issue for me so far but points on knees taken on and will try to address this, I do look at deadlift form vids and will certainly check these out…it’s just putting it together when I do it …

reed - the build you can see is my new “man cave” in the garden, colour… “autumn gold”