T Nation

Dead Lift Form

Hello, I've been lifting seriously for five months now and I've so far dead lifted 340 for one. It felt good, and just for peace of mind today I recorded a couple sets and I saw my lower back rounding which of course I would like to fix. So here the videos are, what do I need to change in my deads?

The first vid is 315x5 and the second is a lighter after that of 225x5 so I could get a video of my form at a lighter weight.

Don't let your shoulders roll forward. And you're lifting first with your legs and then with your back - that's a quick way to throw your back out, especially once you start going really heavy. You should be pulling with your legs and back simultaneously, not one before the other.

yess, maybe wil squezing your lats very tight help you with that. before you start your rep look if your lats are tight, shoulders back and start from there

I only see the 225x5. Your form looks good. Repost the 315x5.

Could it just be that the weight is too heavy for my shoulders despite the rest of my body being more than up to it? Also, are my hips too high?

Like just flexing my lats? Also, should I be trying to pull my scapulas back to pinch them together?

Here's the 315