DE Box Squats

Hi all, this is my second attempt at incorporating DE days into my training cycle. I plan to compete in Powerlifting either in August or October this year.

The first time I tried DE I just didn’t think it was doing anything beneficial aside from a bit of recovery, but the evidence of others is staring me in the face so I have decided to start another cycle incorporating DE with bands and chains.

It took me a few sessions but now I can really “throw” the weight up hard in the bench using 50% 1RM + small bands. Now that I have got my head around really exploding I can feel the strain in my delts and tris.

Not so with my box squats. I just don’t feel the same exertion and I can’t seem to speed it up enough.

Any tips? I’m a fairly new trainee, so perhaps I need more weight to get a training effect? Less weight? Or do I just need to keep at it until I get faster?

Or is the “strain” just not as prominent in the squat for some trainees? I think I lift reasonably fast, but I am slow off the box.

It could just be my motor patterns, I’ve only been squatting for about 2.5 years, weight training for 3. I’m not in a comfortable groove yet, I’m really only just figuring out how to use my glutes and abs correctly.

I’m using 50% 1RM (160kg x 50% = 80kg) plus small bands in my work sets. I have recently procured some chains.

As I type this I wonder if playing a game of Touch Rugby the night before training might be setting me back? I could re-schedule but I suspect scheduling ME work the morning after my game would slow my progress too much.

I train 4 days/week; Mon DE bench, Tues DE squat, Thurs ME bench, Fri ME squat. Touch Rugby is Mon night this season.

Aidan

You could try using a lighter weight or taking the bands off to work on being explosive.

Maybe some box jumps could help. Throw a couple of sets in before the DE squats

I think this may answer your question.

http://asp.elitefts.com/qa/default.asp?qid=69392&tid=