Days For Fat Loss vs Muscle Building

Okay, I run in cycles on how I think about this, convincing myself it’s better to work more on fat loss for a few weeks to get rid of what I have faster and then turning around and convincing myself muscle building is a better route–though the slower route–for a few weeks, so I wanted to get some opinions so I could gain some focus.

First, I’ll give my stats. I’m 28, almost 6’4", and I’ve been hovering around 270 for a couple years now with too much of it being lard. I can honestly say I’ve got a decent amount of muscle under it all as I’ve managed to stay fairly consistent about training for the last several years, and I had a good base to work from due to years of highschool athletics and plenty of farm/hard labor, but of course, I’ve had my periods of inactivity in there and I’m at a desk job now.

Anyway, I’m working on consistency and have been getting better. On diet, I’m nailing that down as well. My main goal at the moment is to lose the lard. I know that diet is a key element, but outside of that, what I’d like to get some opinions on is if it’d be better for me to focus on doing fat loss routines more than muscle building routines, or the reverse.