T Nation

DanHill64's Training Log

Pre Meet - Smolov Jr. for Bench, Mag-Ort for Deads, Weighted Chins and Maintenance Squats
Post Meet - Smolov Jr. for Squats and Press, Weighted Chins
Post Smolov - Lamar Gant Deads with Maintenance Squats and Smolov Jr. for Bench (Weeks 1-4) and Custom Upper Body Program (Weeks 5-12)

Sunday 06/17/12 -

Squat
Worked up to 335x8
3 singles @ 355
250x5x10

Bench @ 225x6x6 (all paused + 200 Band Pullaparts)

Standing Round Back GMs @ 145x5x5

Ab Circuit - SideBends@70/AbWheel@25/BackExts@30 x3x15

Tuesday 06/19/12 -

Bench
Warmups
240x7x5 (Paused)

Weighted Chins @ 45x10x5 (Super-setted with bench warmups/sets)

DB Row @ 95x5x10

100 Band Pullaparts

Thursday 06/21/12 -

Sumo - worked up to 455x3
Bench@255x8x4 (Paused) 100 Band Pullaparts
Conv Deads - 455x1, 500x0 (made it past the knees but couldn’t stand up…)
Hack Squats up to 315x7

Sunday 06/24/12 -

PauseBench@270x10x3
Weighted Chins @ 45x10x5 (Supersetted w/ Bench)
DB Rows @ 100x5x10
150 Band Pullaparts
Ab Circuit (Same as Sun 06/17)

Deload Week -

Tuesday 06/26/12 - Worked up to 3 conventional deadlift singles of 500 (2 hitched…)

Thursday 06/28/12 -
PauseBench - Worked up to 315x1, 275x3x3
Weighted Chins @ 45x50
DB Rows @ 100x5x10
Band Work, Abs

Sunday 07/01/12 -

Pause Bench @ 215x6x6
Weighted Chins @ 50x10x6 (SS)

Worked 8-4 and my gym closes at 6 so I had limited time…

Monday 07/02/12 -

Squat
135x5
185x5
225x3
255x3
290x3
330x7x5

Weighted Incline Situps w/25 behind head 3x10
SideBends@75/AbWheel@35x3x15, 200 Band Pullaparts

07/03/12 -

Bench@230x7x5
WChins@50x10x5
DBRows@100x5x10
200 BandPullAparts

07/05/12 -
Sumo
360x4x4
410x2
460x2
360x8
Bench@245x8x4
WChins@50x10x5 (SS)

Sunday 07/08/12 -

Close Grip Pause Bench@260x10x3
WChins@50x15x5 (SS), Band Pullaparts x a bunch

Hurt my shoulder on the fourth of July carrying wooden pallets for a bonfire, it started hurting on Thursday during my second bench set but I pushed through it and took two days off to recover and it started hurting again today so I won’t bench this week and will try again next Sunday…

Monday 07/09/12 -
WChins@50x10x5
DBRow@100x5x10
100 Band Pullaparts

Tuesday 07/10/12 -
Squat
135x5
185x5
235x5
275x3
315x5x7
SideBends@80/WeightedSitups@25/AbWheel@35/BackExtensions@50 Circuit-3x10
WChins@50x10x5, 200 Band Pullaparts
Press@45x5, 65x5, 85x5, 105x5, 125x5, 145x5, 165x3(PR)

Wednesday 07/11/12 -
WChins@50x10x5, 200 Band Pullaparts

Friday 07/13/12 -
Deads
370x4x4
420x2
470x1
Sumo
470x1
370x8
Leg Curls 5x10
Hip Adduction/Abduction 3x25

Since I can do weighted chins, dumbbell rows, set a press PR, and do high volume band work, I have come to the hypothesis that my “shoulder pain” may actually be pec tendonitis. The pain does seem to be occurring where the pec major inserts on the humerus so I’ve been using heat/cold pain relief creams, time in the hot-tub, icing the area, taking ibuprofen and not doing chest work and won’t even attempt to bench until Sunday which is 7 days since the last time I benched. Any thoughts?

Sunday 07/15/12 -
Bench@230x6x6
WChins@55x10x5
DBRows@100x5x10

Tuesday 07/17/12 -
Squat
135x5
185x5
225x5
275x3
315x3
345x3x3
Bench@245x7x5
WChins@55x10x5

Wednesday 07/18/12 -
Bench@260x8x4
WChins@55x10x5
DBRows@100x5x10

Friday 07/20/12 -
Sumo
380x4x4
430x2
480x1, 1
380x8
Bench@275x10x3
WChins@55x10x5
Leg Curls 5x10, HipMachines 4x25

Sunday 07/29/12 -
Squat
135x5
185x5
225x5
275x3
315x3
355x5x3
200 BPA, 25 Hill Sprints, 2 Mile Walk

Monday 07/30/12 -
Bench@215x6x6
WChins@55x10x5
DBRows@100x3x12, 200 BPA

Tuesday 07/31/12 -
Bench@235x7x5
WChins@60x10x5
DBRows@100x3x8

Thursday 08/02/12 -
Sumo
Warmups
360x4x4
410x2
460x2
365x5
Bench@250x8x4
WChins@55x10x5
15 Hill Sprints, 1 Mile Walk

Friday 08/03/12 -
Bench@265x10x3
WChins@55x10x5
15 Hill Sprints, 1 Mile Walk

Monday 08/06/12 -
Squat@340x5x4
Bench@225x6x6
WChins@60x10x5

Tuesday 08/07/12 -
Bench@245x7x5
WChins@60x10x5

Thursday 08/09/12 -
Bench@260x8x4
WChins@60x10x5

Friday 08/10/12 -
Sumo
370x4x4
420x2
470x2
Bench@275x10x3
WChins@60x10x5

Sunday 08/12/12 -
Bench@250x7x5
WChins@60x10x5

Tuesday 08/14/12 -
Bench@265x8x4
WChins@60x10x5

Thursday 08/16/12 -
Sumo
Warmups
380x2
430x2
480x2
385x4x5 (2 Sumo, 2 Conv)
Bench@280x10x3
WChins@60x10x5
Squat@320x5x5
Body Weight: 175.5

Sunday 08/26/12 -
Squat
Warmups
365x1
400x1
425x1 (20 lbs. PR, video posted)
395x3x1
Bench@235x7x5
WChins@60x14x5

Wednesday 08/29/12 -
Bench@250x8x4
WChins@60x13x5

Friday 08/31/12 -
Sumo
380x2
430x2
480x2
380x4x4
Bench@270x10x3
WChins@60x10x5

Monday 09/03/12 -
Squat@325x4x5
Bench@245x7x5
WChins@65x10x5

Wednesday 09/05/12 -
Bench@260x8x4
WChins@65x10x5

Friday 09/07/12 -
Sumo
365x2
445x2
495x1
405x4x4
Bench@280x10x3
WChins@65x10x5

Sunday 09/09/12 -
Bench@255x7x5
WChins@45x10x5

Tuesday 09/11/12 -
Bench@270x8x4
WChins@50x10x5

Friday 09/14/12 -
Sumo
Warmed up in doubles (50 pound jumps)
395x2
445x2
495x2
405x4x5
Bench@285x10x3
100 BW Chins (BW=178.5)

Meet Day -> Saturday 09/22/12

09/22/2012 - MEET DAY

Weigh In - 79.6 kg (175 lbs)

Squat - 185 kg (407 lbs)
Bench - 137.5 kg (303 lbs)
Deads - 235 kg (518 lbs)