Dangerous But Effective?

There are some protocols on the web that call for the use of insulin to induce ketosis after a carb load at a faster rate. My question is could this be used in conjunction with a Animalbolics or Warrior diet where one would carb load each night? Because this would get you into ketosis for all of the next day prior to your load meal. Or would the repeated use of insulin each night simply make you fat despite it sending you into ketosis?

Great question. I don’t know the answer but it seems that you are asking if using insulin could actually help you lean out? Maybe, I’m no expert but hopefully one of the vets could give some answers.

I used to get into rapid ketosis after a two day carb up with alcohol. I would work out hard before work, protien shake after, then hit the bars after work for about 3 or 4 single malts; the next day, like clockwork, I was in ketosis. I thought about the insulin thing but decided just not to fuck with it.

Hey James,
That is a pretty amazing example. Do you think it was because of the insulin secretion caused by the alcohol or the alcohol itself that caused this? And do you think doing that helped you get leaner than if you had just waited for your body to naturally hit ketosis? By the way how did you come up with the idea to do this?

Hmmmm, the Glenlivet Diet. I like the sound of it. It seems to me that it may not simply be the alcohol. Whiskeys are high in simple sugars too. If one wanted to test the theory out, I suppose you could try vodka instead, which has less extra-caloric baggage, or grain alcohol, or Everclear.

As for insulin usage, I guess I’m just toeing the party line here, but I think it is very dangerous for the averge person to mess with. Insulin shock is some serious shit.

James, I too would like to know if you feel having used that system got you leaner than if you just naturely waited till your body entered ketosis.