T Nation

Dan John 2 Day/wk Program

Hi…has anyone tried Dan John’s two days a week program? if so, what do you think of it?

I’m doing John Broz’s Bulgarian method but I’m a student and don’t have time to work out 6 days a week. Please tell me if you got results from it and give me some tips as well!

Also please explain how ten reps Bench works(because he says keep adding weight with “big jumps” so lets say that I can do 90kg for 10 reps, should I do 60kgx10, 70kgx10,80kgx10, and 90kg x as many as I can ?)

Thanks

I don’t think it was a 2 day a week program. It was a lifting weights 2 days a week, then training a bunch of throwing the other days.

You will be doing yourself a disservice if you only train 2x/week. There are better ways to go about training.

I’m sure Dan (or his athletes) trains with weights 2x/week but do other stuff on the other days.

Being a student, you have the most free time in the world. I wish I was a student again I would be training every day if I could. Why not go with 4 or 5x instead?

http://danjohn.net/2011/01/minimalist-training/ here is his article about it…from his website…please let me know if I misunderstood any part of the article

Yes it will work Dan John’s advice is rock solid. Also check out his southwood article here

[quote]amir_rpa wrote:
http://danjohn.net/2011/01/minimalist-training/ here is his article about it…from his website…please let me know if I misunderstood any part of the article[/quote]

You understood it right. It’s just not the most efficient way in gaining strength in terms of time. You will no doubt gain if you train hard with it and eat right, but someone else training at a higher frequency will probably gain a lot faster.

I can see why someone who is short on time will be doing something similar. It’s all about which kind of sacrifice you are willing to make.

[quote]shffl wrote:
You will be doing yourself a disservice if you only train 2x/week. There are better ways to go about training.